New South Wales Branch

Latest News


ACE 2018

ACE2018 will be held in Canberra from 10-13 July 2018 with key note speakers confirmed as Anne Krueger, Professor of International Economics, John Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies in Washington DC; John Asker, Professor of Economics, UCLA; Marilyn Waring, Professor of Public Policy, AUT and Kathryn Graddy, Senior Associate Dean, Brandeis University, Massachusettes.


US Corporate Tax Cuts

This month we asked our National Economic Panel (NEP) for their views on the following proposition. It goes to a potential core election issue as to whether Australia should follow President Trump's suit and reduce its company tax rate if it is to continue to attract investment from abroad and at home.



Gig Economy and Worker Welfare

The spectacular growth of the 'sharing economy' and 'gig economy' (enabled by platforms such as Uber, Deliveroo, AirBnB, AirTasker, TaskRabbit, Freelancer and others) is transforming the nature of work and working relationships - creating both new opportunities and risks for the welfare of Australian workers.


ABC RN TalkShow

Keep your ears peeled for a new ABC RN talk show program entitled ‘The Economists’, hosted by Peter Martin and Gigi Foster.  The show airs on Thursdays from 5:30-6 PM starting 8 Feb, and aims to apply the lens of economics to…just about anything.  Available to listen live or post-show as a podcast.  Don’t miss their first show, when former Australian Young Economist of the Year 


Australia Day Honours

Congratulations to Mr John Eric PIERCE, who was awarded the Order of Australia (AO) General Division for distinguished service to public administration through senior roles in developing regulatory and policy initiatives and micro-economic and energy market reforms, and to the community. 


Awards 2017

The Economic Society of Australia offers annual awards to honour distinguished Australian Economists for their contribution to the development of economics.  Pictured here is Professor Alison Booth receiving her award from ESA President Matthew Butlin.


New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia