New South Wales Branch

Emerging Economist Series

The Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch) proudly sponsors the Emerging Economist Series. The series of six luncheons, held at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney, gives young economists the opportunity to discuss critical issues with prominent Australian policymakers, as well as network with colleagues in business, academia and the public service. The luncheons include an interview-style discussion with the key-note speaker, exploring the issues they have faced during their careers and highlighting Australia’s key economic challenges going forward. 

The Series has been inspiring, educating and entertaining emerging economists for nine years. Join us for this, our special Ten Year Anniversary Series.

We have a terrific line up of special guests which includes The Hon. Paul Keating; Prof. Deborah Cobb-Clark; Ross Gittins AM; Helen Silver AO; Tom Parry AM and Dr Matthew Butlin.  You can read more about our speakers and lunch dates here.



The Hon. Paul Keating

The Hon. Paul Keating left school at 15, joined the ALP, became President of the parties NSW Youth Council and was elected in 1969 to the House of Representatives as the Member for Blaxland. In 1975 he became the youngest ever federal Minister as Minister for Northern Australia in the Whitlam Cabinet.  

Lunch date to be confirmed - 2018


Tom Parry AM

Tom Parry AM has an extensive career as an academic, in business and public policy, in the financial sector and as a regulator. He has been Head of the School Economics, UNSW and Dean, Faculty of Commerce, University of Wollongong.

Lunch date: Tuesday 10 October 2017


Ross Gittins AM

Ross Gittins AM has been Economics Editor of The Sydney Morning Herald since 1978 and is an economic columnist for The Age, Melbourne. His journalistic experience includes editorial writing and stints in the parliamentary press galleries in Sydney and Canberra. 

Lunch date: Thursday 2 November 2017


Helen Silver AO

Helen Silver AO is a Chief General Manager at Allianz Australia, with a major role in the oversight and delivery of Workers’ Compensation services for Allianz across Australia. 

Lunch date: Wednesday 14 February 2018


Dr Matthew Butlin

Dr Matthew Butlin ESA National President and Victorian Red Tape Commissioner since September 2015, working with businesses to identify and reduce red tape and regulatory inefficiency. His career covers both public and private sectors, in many roles including Chair of the Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission, Commissioner of the Productivity Commission and senior executive roles in mining, management consulting and in several Commonwealth Departments.  

Lunch date to be confirmed - 2018


Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark is Professor of Economics at the University of Sydney. She is Director of the Program in Gender and Families at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA) in Bonn, Germany; a Chief Investigator in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Children and Families over the Life Course; and an elected Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia. Deborah has a PhD in Economics from the University of Michigan (1990). 

Lunch date to be confirmed 2018


New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia