New South Wales Branch

CBA Forum 2016



The Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch), in conjunction with NSW Department of Industry were delighted to once again bring you this enormously popular and well-attended event - this year's topic was Forecasting for Cost Benefit Analysis and was  held at SMC, 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney.  Thank you to all of our speakers for so generously giving their time and to participants for making this such an interesting and interactive day.

Download this year's Forecasting for CBA Forum Program



Professor Peter Abelson, Applied Economics

Peter Abelson has a Ph. D in economics from London University and has worked as an economist in universities, international economic consultancy and government.


Professor Eileen Baldry, UNSW

Eileen Baldry (BA, DipEd, MWP, PhD) is Academic Chair UNSW Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Board and Professor of Criminology at and a Member of the Management Board of UNSW Sydney.


Mr Gary Barnes, NSW Department of Industry

Gary Barnes, Deputy Secretary Economic, Skills & Regional Development | NSW Department of Industry - Gary was appointed to the position of Deputy Secretary, Economic, Skills & Regional Development in December 2015.


Professor Leo Dobes, ANU

Leo Dobes completed his DPhil at Oxford University before joining the Department of Foreign Affairs.  His 30-year Public Service career included intelligence analysis in the Office of National Assessments and policy roles in Defence, Treasury, and Transport and Regional Services. 


Mr Michael Gadiel, NSW Treasury

Michael Gadiel is Director of Economic Forecasting and Modelling for the NSW Treasury.


Professor David Hensher, The University of Sydney

David Hensher is Professor of Management, and Founding Director of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies (ITLS) at The University of Sydney.


Ms Nicki Hutley, Urbis

Nicki Hutley is Director and Chief Economist at Urbis.  Nicki is a highly experienced economist, with more years than she cares to admit to in economic, financial market and public policy experience. 


Professor Flavio Menezes, UQ

Flavio Menezes is a Professor of Economics at The University of Queensland. He was Head of the School of Economics from January 2009 to January 2015. He joined The University of Queensland in June 2006 after more than a decade at the Australian National University, where amongst other responsibilities he was the Foundation Director of the Australian Centre of Regulatory Economics.


Mr Ed Willett, IPART

Mr Ed Willett has 25 years experience in competition policy and economic regulation, with a particular focus on the economic regulation of utility services. He was a commissioner with the ACCC until 2013 and was appointed an inaugural member of the Australian Energy Regulator in 2005.  He was appointed for a term of five years.


Professor Glyn Wittwer, Centre of Policy Studies, Victoria University

Glyn Wittwer is a Professor at the Centre of Policy Studies, Victoria University. He has been one of the main developers of TERM (The Enormous Regional Model), a multi-regional computable general equilibrium (CGE) model devised by Professor Mark Horridge.


New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia