New South Wales Branch

Emerging Economist Series 2016/17


From: Friday April 28, 2017, 12:15 pm

To: Friday April 28, 2017, 2:00 pm

Ian Macfarlane AC  was Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1996 to 2006, and inaugural Chairman of the Council of Financial Regulators. Prior to joining the Reserve Bank, he had worked at Monash University, the Institute for Economics and Statistics at Oxford University, and at the OECD in Paris. Since leaving the Reserve Bank, he has served on several Australian public company boards, been a member of the International Advisory Boards of Goldman Sachs, and the China Banking Regulatory Commission, and become a Professorial Fellow at Melbourne University and the Melbourne Business School. Mr Macfarlane was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and has been the recipient of honorary doctorates from five Australian universities.  In 2006 he delivered the Boyer Lectures. He has been a director of the Lowy Institute since its inception.

Six luncheons with prominent Australian policymakers

The Emerging Economist Series is a unique professional development opportunity now in its seventh year. It involves six luncheons, held at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney, where young economists have the opportunity to discuss critical issues with prominent Australian policymakers, as well as network with colleagues in business, academia and the public service.  The luncheons include an interview-style discussion with Australia’s foremost policymakers and economists, exploring the issues they have faced during their careers and highlighting Australia’s key economic challenges going forward. 

Subscription is for one person to attend all six lunches in the Series – this can be shared with your colleagues.  Lunch dates to be confirmed.

Two or more registrations - $660 per person | Individual registration - $880

View the 2016/17 Program



65 Martin Place, Sydney NSW 2000

Share this with your friends

Add to My Calendar

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia