New South Wales Branch

Australia Day Honours

Mr John Eric PIERCE, Concord NSW 2137

For distinguished service to public administration through senior roles in developing regulatory and policy initiatives and micro-economic and energy market reforms, and to the community.

Service includes:

Energy sector:
Chairman, Australian Energy Market Commission, since 2010.
Secretary, Commonwealth Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism, 2009-2010. Former Chief Economist, Pacific Power NSW, 1988-1993.
Former Economist, Electricity Commission of NSW (Elcom).
Chair, Electricity Supply Industry Expert Panel, Review of Tasmania's electricity industry 2010-2012.

Secretary, NSW Treasury, 1997-2008 and Chief Economist, 1993-1996. Former Chairman, NSW Treasury Corporation.

Chairman, St Patrick's College Strathfield, since 2010; Chair, Finance Committee, 2007- 2009; Finance Committee Member, since 2005-2010.
Member, Finance Committee, St Patrick's Church Hill Sydney, current.
Advisory Council Member, Australian School of Business, University of New South Wales, since 2006.
Advisory Board Member, Department of Economics, Macquarie University, since 2013. President, NSW Branch, Economic Society of Australia, 1996-1999.

Share this with your friends

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia