New South Wales


< Previous    

A Branch Council is elected each year to provide voluntary administration and manage the affairs of the Society. The Council organises regular events and seminars, engages with students and other organisations, represents the Society at conferences and meetings and advises on the strategic direction of the Society. At the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 1 August, a new Council was elected for 2017/2018.  We are always looking for members to involve themselves in the running of the organisation. Please contact us to express your interest in becoming involved. The Society held its AGM on Tuesday 1 August 2017.  We’re pleased to advise the council members for 2017/18 are:

Penny Smith   President
Leila Fourie   VP (Business)
Paul Oslington   VP (Academic)
Mike Read   Secretary
David Fair   Treasurer
Belinda Cheung   Councillor
Luke Crowther   Councillor
Vince de Zoysa   Councillor
Gigi Foster   Councillor
Pip Freebairn   Councillor
Peter Hendy   Councillor
Nicki Hutley   Councillor
Jess Mizrahi      Councillor
Kaixin Owyong   Councillor
Robert Smith   Councillor
Richard Tooth   Councillor

Click here to read more about these Council Members.


View the NSW Constitution.

At the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 1 August 2017, a proposal to make changes to the Constitution of the Economic Society of Australia (New South Wales Branch) was passed as a Special Resolution. The amendments were proposed to comply with changes to the Associations Incorporations Act and revisions to the Model Constitution in September 2016.

Click here to read a document which outlines the key proposed changes to the Constitution of the Economic Society of Australia (New South Wales Branch) Inc.

Governance Statement

As of 2012/13, all Council members have voluntarily agreed to abide by the Branch's Governance Statement. The Statement was developed by Council members to reflect their ongoing commitment to uphold the interests of the Society and to provide an example of best practice corporate governance. View the ESA NSW Governance Statement


AGM 2018

The date of the next Annual General Meeting of the Economic Society of Australia, NSW Branch is Wednesday 19 September.  

Notice is hereby given of the next Annual General Meeting of the Economic Society of Australia (NSW) 


Date    Wednesday 19 September 
Time   From 6.00pm till 7.30pm (please arrive by 5.50 pm)
Register   By Wednesday 12 September
Nominations   To be received by Wednesday 12 September
Location   Deloitte, Level 9 225 George Street, Sydney

If you would like to attend, please register via our website by Wednesday 12 September.  We will need to know that you’re coming so that you can get into the building - REGISTER NOW.

Nominations for Council Positions

All positions on Council will be declared vacant. To nominate you must be a financial member and so must your nominators. Nominations for Council positions are due Wednesday 12 September.

To nominate:

Click here to download the Nomination Form.

Alternatively, you may nominate without a form by simply e-mailing the administrator with the following:

  • State your name, contact details (address, email and contact number) and position you would like to be nominated for, and copy in at least one other ESA (NSW) financial member (the supporter of your nomination). The person(s) supporting your nomination will be required to follow up with a separate email endorsing your nomination.  Please also disclose any possible conflicts of interest, including employer and role and other professional affiliation.
  • Include the following text in your email:

    I would like to be nominated for a vacant position on the Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch) Council for 2018-19. I am a financial member of the Society and I have read and agreed to the Council’s Governance Statement (available on the ‘Governance’ section of the website). 

Complete the nomination form and send to the administrator.  Nomination forms must be received by Wednesday 12 September.  If you wish to attend the AGM you will need to register in order to gain access at Security (register now).




Share this with your friends

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia