New South Wales

CBA Forum 2015

Cost Benefit Analysis Forum - Who is Benefiting?

The 2015 Cost Benefit Analysis Forum was developed by the Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch) and NSW Department of Industry, Skills & Regional Development.  On this page you an see who our speakers were at this event and further down the page you can view their presentations.

Download the 2015 Agenda



Peter Abelson

Peter Abelson has a Ph. D in economics from London University and has worked as an economist in universities, international economic consultancy and government.  


Jeff Bennett

Jeff Bennett is Professor in the Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University. He has over 40 years’ experience as a teacher, researcher and consultant in the fields of Environmental Economics, Resource Economics and Agricultural Economics.


Peter B. Dixon

Peter B. Dixon, BEc (Monash), PhD (Harvard), is a Professor in the Centre of Policy Studies, Victoria University, Melbourne. Dixon is known internationally for his work in computable general equilibrium modelling. 


Simon Draper

Simon Draper is currently Deputy Secretary, Economic Policy Group, at the Department of Premier and Cabinet.   Previously a Tribunal Member at the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal, he has extensive senior executive management experience in infrastructure and utility companies.


Hugo Harmstorf

Hugo Harmstorf has been the Chief Executive Officer of IPART since November 2013.  Previously he has held Senior Executive roles at the NSW Department of Education and Communities, the Treasuries of both NSW and the ACT, and the NSW Department of Finance and Services. 


Brendan Leary

Brendan Leary is Executive Director, Economics & Planning at Infrastructure NSW, having worked within the NSW public sector for the past 14 years.  In his present role, Brendan contributed to the development of Infrastructure NSW’s advice to Government informing NSW’s 2014 State Infrastructure Strategy. 


Daniel Masters

Daniel Masters is the Senior Manager of the Investment Appraisal team in NSW Trade and Investment (T&I). In this role, Daniel leads a team of economists who undertake cost benefit analysis over a diverse portfolio of projects, ranging from arts precincts to public transport concessions. 


Kristy Muir

Kristy Muir is the Research Director (Social Outcomes) at the Centre for Social Impact and an Associate Professor of Social Policy at the University of New South Wales. 


David Pearce

David Pearce is Executive Director of the Centre for International Economics. He has 30 years’ experience in a variety of areas of economic analysis, including economywide modelling and other quantitative techniques.


Professor John Rose

Professor John Rose is the appointed Director: Research at the Institute for Choice and Research Professor at the University of South Australia. Prior to that, he was Professor in Transport and Logistics Modelling, Director of the Choice Analysis Program, and Graduate Studies Program Director at the University of Sydney.


Sam Sangster

Sam Sangster, Chief Executive, Health Infrastructure, BSc (Ma), LLB (Hons), Grad Dip Leg Prac, GAICD, CPA spent his early career with some of Australia’s largest ASX-listed companies and professional services firms in a range of leadership, commercial and project delivery roles.


CBA Presentations 2015

Cost Benefit Analysis Forum 2015 - Who is Benefiting?

We hope you enjoyed the CBA Forum held 17th July.  Click on the links below to download presentations.  

Welcome Address - Amanda Chadwick

Are CBAs really delivering benefits - Simon Draper

Choosing the right options - David Pearce

The big infrastructure experience - Brendan Leary

The flexibility of CBA - Jeff Bennett

Cultural investment - Daniel Masters

Measuring what people value - John Rose

Considering social impacts in CBA - Kristy Muir

CGE - when should we use CGE - Peter Dixon

Economic value in a social infrastructure context - Sam Sangster     


New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia