New South Wales

Key issues for the RBA: Prof Warwick McKibbin AO - ONLINE ONLY


From: Thursday September 29, 2022, 12:30 pm

To: Thursday September 29, 2022, 1:30 pm

ABE are pleased to present a briefing and discussion by webinar with

Professor Warwick J. McKibbin, AO, FASSA
Crawford School of Public Policy
Australian National University

Key issues for the RBA Review

Thursday 29 September 2022

This presentation will explore the key issues contained in the terms of reference of the RBA Review. The focus will be on the current and alternative monetary policy mandates, and the governance structure of the RBA in the context of likely future shocks due to climate change and the energy transition to a zero carbon world. Information about the Review, including terms of reference and panel members, is available here:

Time: 1:30 pm AEST to 2:30 pm
Venue: By Zoom webinar only. Details provided on registration
Cost: Free of charge for members, $25 for non-members
Educators and students are welcome at no charge.
Registration in advance is essential
Register and pay online here
Professor McKibbin has agreed to take questions from the audience.
Enquiries: or call 0419 256 339
The briefing will be streamed live as a webinar
A recording will be made available shortly after the event concludes.
If you're not a current member of ABE, join now and remain financial through until June 2023. Take advantage of free and discounted places at our events. Join online at the event registration page.

Professor Warwick J. McKibbin
Professor Warwick J. McKibbin, AO, FASSA is a Distinguished Professor of Economics and Public Policy and Director of the Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis (CAMA) in the Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University (ANU). He is also Director of Policy Engagement and ANU Node Leader of the Australian Research Council, Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research (CEPAR) and Director of Research at McKibbin Software Group Pty Ltd. Professor McKibbin is a Distinguished Public Policy Fellow of the Economic Society of Australia; a Distinguished Fellow of the Asia and Pacific Policy Society; a Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (London) and a Non-Resident Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution in Washington D.C (in the Center on Regulation and Markets and the Hutchins Center on Fiscal and Monetary Policy). He was awarded the Order of Australia in 2016 “For Distinguished Service to Education as an Economist, Particularly in the Area of Global Climate Policy, and to Financial Institutions and International Organisations” and the Centenary medal in 2003 “For Service to Australian Society through Economic Policy and Tertiary Education”.  
Professor McKibbin is internationally renowned for his contributions to global economic modeling, the theory of monetary policy, climate change policy and economic modeling of pandemics. He has published more than 240 peer reviewed academic papers and six books as well as being a regular commentator in the popular press. He served on the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 2001 to 2011 and worked at the Reserve Bank from 1975 to 1991. He regularly advises international institutions, central banks, governments and corporations across a range of developed and emerging economies.

Australian Business Economists (ABE) aims to encourage greater understanding of economic issues by fostering debate in the financial markets, business and commercial sectors and across the community in general. Visit us at:
Australian Business Economists
email: web:
phone: 0419 256 339 
post: PO Box 7267, Bondi Beach 2026, Australia



Disclaimer: The Economic Society of Australia promotes discussion of evidence-based work.  The views and opinions expressed here are those of author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch) or its council members. 

Share this with your friends

Add to My Calendar

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia