New South Wales

CBA Community of Practice

The Economic Society of Australia (NSW Branch) in conjunction with NSW Trade & Investment invites you to participate in a cost benefit analysis (CBA) community of practice.

Broadly, the goal of the CBA Community of Practice will be to provide a forum for practitioners to meet and discuss common issues in preparing CBAs for government investment and policy.

The first meeting was held on 1 April 2015 in the MLC Centre, 19 Martin Place, Level 47, Parkes Room, from 12 noon to 1:30pm.

The agenda for the first meeting was:

  • Introduction – Richard Tooth (ESA) and Daniel Masters (NSW T&I)
  • Presentation and discussion on the CBA of mining projects (presentation by Professor Peter Abelson)
  • Presentation and discussion of survey results from last year’s CBA forum

Attendance to these events is free and a light lunch will be provided, however, it is essential that if you register that you attend or cancel your registration at least 24 hours prior to the event. Some pre-reading may be sent out to attendees.

The intention is that there will meetings held at least quarterly.  If you’d like to find out more about this program, contact us via or join our LinkedIn Group.


Peter AbelsonPeter Abelson has a Ph. D in economics from London University and has worked as an economist in universities, international economic consultancy and government.  Peter was Professor of Economics at Macquarie University from 2001 to 2005 and lectured in public finance at Sydney University from 2006 to 2012. His textbook, Public Economics: Principles and Practice (3E, McGraw Hill 2012) is the main Australian text in this field. Also since 2006, Peter has been a part-time Principal Economic Advisor to the NSW Treasury. Peter consults separately through his company Applied Economics and runs regular public workshops on cost-benefit analysis. In 2012 he became the first popularly elected Mayor (to 2016) of Mosman Municipal Council.

Share this with your friendss

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia