New South Wales

Two domestic PhD Scholarships Available

Macquarie University Centre for the Health Economy (MUCHE) Industry funded Higher Degree Research (HDR) scholarships

We are currently advertising two DOMESTIC Macquarie University Research Excellence Scholarships (MQRES), one for a bundled 2nd year Master of Research plus PhD, and another for a PhD.

Project Description

The period of candidature is four years (the second year of a two-year degree for the Master of Research and three year PhD) for the first scholarship, and three years for the second PhD scholarship. Both are offered full-time. Selected candidates are required to commence both programs by 1 July 2018.

The program is aimed at high calibre students willing to undertake research relevant to the pharmaceutical sector and government. This includes:

  • Pharmaceutical policy research themes, such as access to medicines and reimbursement.
  • Medicine management research themes, such as medication adherence and choice.
  • Advancement of analytical methods, such as using real world data to better inform decisions.

What we offer

The full-time stipend rate associated with the scholarships is $47,393.50 per annum tax exempt, consisting of a 2018 MQRES funded full-time stipend rate of $27,082 per annum tax exempt plus a $20,311.50 per annum top up. Tuition fees for domestic (Australian citizen or permanent visa holder) candidates are automatically covered by the Australian Government Research Training Program (RTP) Fees Offset (Domestic).

Successful scholarship applicants may also have access to Research Assistant work to supplement the scholarship stipend (on average for 14 hours per week).

In addition to the scholarship, Macquarie University provides approximately $1,500 over the second year of the Master of Research and $10,000 over the course of the PhD for research related activities (travel to present at conferences, training, copy editing, thesis production etc).


Dr Henry Cutler
Phone: 02 9850 2998

To Apply

Click here for further information and to apply via the online application system.

Closing date: 30 April 2018


Share this with your friends

New South Wales

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia